The Board

Dictionary of Sydney Board


Professor Paul Ashton BA (Hons) DipEd (Macq) PhD (Macq) MPHA
Chair, Dictionary of Sydney
Paul Ashton is the Professor of Public History at the University of Technology, Sydney. He has worked in the fields of heritage, urban, oral and community history and undertaken commissioned histories. Paul is Co-Director of the Australian Centre for Public History and co-editor of the journal Public History Review. He is a past President of the Professional Historians Association of NSW.


Andrew Bateman
As part of the CMO at Telstra, Andy Bateman is accountable for marketing across all customer segments including business, enterprise and government as well as Telstra consumer and small business marketing. Prior to this he was Global CEO of The Leading Edge, a leading international market research company residing in Sydney. He was previously CEO of brand consultancy Interbrand in the US and has also served as Worldwide account lead on Intel, for McCann Worldgroup. Credits include repositioning and launch efforts for brands including Kimberly Clark, Thomson Reuters, Kellogg’s, Merrill Lynch, UBS, Dell, L’Oreal, Audi, Allied Domecq brands and the Australian Government.
His work has won both numerous effectiveness and creative awards, while his work with UBS was the subject of a Harvard Business case study.


Professor Michael Fraser AM
Professor Michael Fraser AM is a Professor of Law at the University of Technology, Sydney and Director of the Communications Law Centre (CLC), UTS, Australia’s independent, non-profit, public interest centre specialising in communications, media and online law and policy.
He was a founder and CEO of Copyright Agency Limited (CAL) for twenty one years and a founding director of Australian, foreign and international copyright management organisations.
Professor Fraser is Chairman of the Australian Copyright Council, Chairman of the Stolen Generations Testimonies Foundation and President of International PEN – Sydney Centre and a director of the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN).


Dr Kate Harrington BA (Hons), G.Dip Information Management (UNSW), G.Dip Management (UTS), PhD (UNSW)
Kate is Manager, Information, at the Office of Finance and Services. She has previously worked for many other State Government agencies, including; Department of Information, Management and Technology, Housing NSW and the NSW Police Service. She was also an archivist at the Noel Butlin Archives Centre at ANU. In 2001, Kate conceptualised and designed the first information directory (Green Pages) for NSW. In 2009, she developed the first state-level data catalogue (data.nsw), and led a program of citizen / developer events around building apps using NSW Government data, for which she won the Premier’s Public Sector Award for ‘Innovation Through Technology’ in 2011. Kate’s Honors dissertation was a study of the Menzies’ Governments attempt to break the Waterside Workers Federation and her PhD analyses the effectiveness of ICT policy implementation on public sector operations.


Dr Ian Johnson BA Hons (Cambridge) DES (Bordeaux) PhD (ANU)
Dr Ian Johnson is a Senior Research Fellow in Archaeology and Director of the Archaeological Computing Laboratory at the University of Sydney. He has worked as Aboriginal Sites Registrar at the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and for the Arkansas Archaeological Survey.
His work focuses on the use of Geographic Information Systems in archaeology and on the delivery of historical information through time-based interactive web maps, map animations and online databases. He is on the Executive of the Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative and the International Advisory Board of Internet Archaeology.


Professor Grace Karskens BA MA PhD (Syd)
Grace Karskens is an Associate Professor in the School of History and Philosophy at the University of New South Wales, where she teaches Australian history and public history. A recipient of two ARC Research Fellowships (1995-2000) and a Discovery Grant (2003-2007), her research focuses on social, cultural, urban and environmental history and urban archaeology.
Grace’s books include Inside the Rocks: The Archaeology of a Neighbourhood, the prize-winning The Rocks: Life in Early Sydney, and most recently The Colony: a History of Early Sydney, which won the 2010 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Non-Fiction. Grace is a Trustee of the New South Wales Historic Houses Trust.


Dr Heidi Norman BA (Syd), MA (Social Policy) (UTS), PhD Philosophy
Heidi Norman is a Senior Lecturer in the Communication Program at the University of Technology, Sydney. She researchers and publishes in the areas of NSW Aboriginal history and politics with a particular focus on land and its management and the Aboriginal administrative domain. Her study of Aboriginal Land Rights in NSW (What Do We Want? A Political History of Aboriginal Land Rights in NSW) is a critical account of the interface between the Government’s construction of Aboriginal interests in land and the emerging governance of those land and interests by Aboriginal citizens through their land councils.  She is an Executive member of the History Council of NSW and descendant of the Gomeroi people in north-western NSW.


Dr Sarah Barns BA (Hons) (Murdoch University), PhD (UTS)
Sarah is Research Fellow at the Institute for Culture and Society, University of Western Sydney


Lisa Murray photo by Australia Unlimited/Pierre Toussaint

Dr Lisa Murray BA (Hons) PhD (Syd)
Ex Officio
Lisa Murray was appointed City Historian at the Council of the City of Sydney in 2010. She has 15 years’ experience as professional historian and is an awarding-winning author. Her many public history publications include Musical Chairs: The Quest for a City Recital Hall and The Capitol Theatre Restoration.

(Photo by Australia Unlimited / Pierre Toussaint)


Major Government